Speeding Ticket

This is a short and sweet post. It was another 40-400 word challenge from the The Pulse with the topic “in the middle of the night.” Here was my spin on that topic which was accepted for publication.

As an OB/GYN, the middle of the night is like a normal work day for me. I find the drive in at 2 or 3 am is my transition time from interrupted sleep to reminding myself that this is an important moment for my patient. It helps me  make that shift from focusing on my needs to theirs. Unfortunately, in this reverie, I sometimes lose sight of the speed limit, particularly in 25 mph zones. Not that I get speeding tickets all the time, but I would say the majority are during these middle-of-the-night drives. So, I have become accustomed to handing over my hospital badge along with my driver’s license and proof of insurance. It seems my plea of “I’m on my way to deliver a baby” rarely makes an impression. Once though, when a woman police officer stopped me, something magical happened. As I explained my predicament, I could see flash before her the night she delivered her baby, remembering the relief she felt when her doctor walked into her room. With a smile on her face and a twinkle in her eyes (at least, that is my fantasy, it was dark after all), she said ” go do your work and be careful.” Off I went, helping to bring another life into this world,  without a speeding ticket.

3 thoughts on “Speeding Ticket

Leave a Reply

